Select Page

CARICOM Day is a celebration of Caribbean identity, resilience, and aspirations. The Treaty of Chaguaramas, which took effect on August 1, 1973, marked the establishment of CARICOM. The founding nations of this regional organization were Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana, and Trinidad & Tobago. It honours the achievements of the member states in building a strong regional community and reinforces their determination to overcome shared challenges and pursue common goals. It serves as a platform for member states to discuss important regional issues, strengthen diplomatic ties, and promote collaboration in areas such as trade, education, health, and sustainable development.